Bighted Property Review Committee



Purpose and Enabling Legislation

Created by Ordinance #4591, (July 3, 1979), as amended by Ordinance #4656, (August 26, 1980), appointing five (5) members for a term of four (4) years.  *No residency requirement.

Members are appointed by the Mayor and shall include the following:

  • Redevelopment Authority Representative
  • Altoona Planning Commission Representative
  • Two representatives appointed by the Mayor

This Committee is responsible for administering the Blighted Property Program (Act 94) from the initial phase of determination of blight to the end result of rehabilitation, demolition, or acquisition by the Redevelopment Authority through condemnation proceedings.


  • Rebecca Brown, Codes & Inspections Director
  • Mary Johnson, CDBG Manager, 814-949-2470


Held on an as needed basis at 3:30 PM at City Hall  Conference Room - 4th Floor, 1301 12th Street, Altoona PA 16601.


 Bighted Property Review Committee Members

  • Councilman David Butterbaugh
    2821 Oak Avenue
    Altoona PA 16601
    Office Phone: 814-932-6282
    Term End: January 2018
  • Bob Gutshall
    Planning Commission Representative
    Altoona PA
  • Vacant
    Term End: January 2016
  • Vacant
    Term End: January 2016